Anything but landscape

An insect visits a beautiful world.
An insect visits a beautiful world.

Don’t get me wrong.  I like to photograph landscapes.  I usually post them to an Arizona hiking site as informational rather than objects of beauty.  It’s a “I hiked here” sort of thing.  Or this is where I got hung up on the mountain.

But as I shoot more photos I want more and more to make them interesting if not things of beauty.  Here are four photos that evoked in me the emotions of curiosity, humor and loneliness.

Oranges eaten by birdbath birds?
Oranges eaten by birdbath birds?

The first photo shows an African Daisy in our backyard.  It is one among many in the wildflower garden.  I used a tripod and cheap macro lens, the one that I displayed earlier with inconsequential scratches in the glass.  As I enlarged the photo on editing software, I not only saw the interior of the daisy but a small insect, a fly I think, nearby.  Hmmm.  Interesting, I thought.

Augie waits for his supper.
Augie waits for his supper.

I had to laugh at this one, the second photo.  It shows a small birdbath on a wall in our backyard.  Three ceramic birds hover just above the water.  Sentinels, I suppose.  To make it a bit unusual, I placed in the scene two damaged oranges from a nearby tree, no doubt victims of our noisy Gila woodpecker’s sharp beak.  If you look at it in a certain light, then you might think those ceramic birds briefly came to life and attacked the oranges.  Humor?  Maybe.

The third photo was shot in the near darkness of our backyard patio.  One of our three outdoor cat, Augie by name, is waiting to be fed.  It seems interesting to me since with the empty food bowls at the side, the photo seems all but self-explanatory.

Waiting for life to appear.
Waiting for life to appear.

Loneliness or emptiness radiates from the last photo.  At least to me.  There you have an “ancient” wood bench, unpainted, and a blue birdbath.  Neither is being used.  There is no indication really they have ever been used.  Set against the somber background of frost-damaged bougainvillea and a drab, gray wall, it is a downer to me.  It is an “autumn” photo shot in 80 degree weather on one of the warmest days of our winter.  I intend to shoot this photo over and over until I get it as good as I can.

 

Leave a Reply

