A scratched camera lens: So what?

I see nothing wrong here.

I see nothing wrong here.

My Canon EFS 18-55 mm macro lens has a scratch.  Actually there are three of them.  I don’t know how they made it there but they did.  I suspect I dropped the camera with the lens cover off and it banged into rock on one of my hikes.  It had to be something like that.  Those lenses are tough.

All are on the lower right quadrant, and I felt horrible.  Horrible because I thought the lens would produce bad photos with zagged streaks of light on the image.  One scratch was 1/2 inch long. Another was 3/16 of an inch and the smallest was 1/16.

If an imperfection exists in this photo, I could not tell.

If an imperfection exists in this photo, I could not tell.

My first reaction was to visit the Internet.  I found one of those zillions of camera websites and read on.  I was astonished to learn that scratches mean very little.  It also said to put some toothpaste on a microcloth and wipe the lens in circles.  Some of the scratches might go away.

I did the toothpaste thing but nothing changed.  The scratches, I guess, were too deep.

Lens appears OK.

Lens appears OK.

The other day I decided to give the injured macro an experimental try.  The photos on this post were taken with that lens.  You be the judge.

 

Leave a Reply

