The ugly part of the blogosphere

One of the ugly facts of the blogosphere is soft-spamming.

For example, I recently received a comment from another blog re an article I published last month called, “RLS in Saranac.”  It was my impressions of a visit to the Robert Louis Stevenson museum in Saranac Lake, NY.

The comment started:  “Very nice post!”  That was immediately followed by:  “I thought you might be interested in my current project.”  The project was related to an uncompleted film about Stevenson.  And, of course, the project was seeking donations.

This practice is a big turn-off for me.

One thought on “The ugly part of the blogosphere

  1. madelyn October 24, 2013 / 4:16 AM

    Don’t know if you meant your site as a blog rather than a journal, but I found it so helpful and saw that folks were leaving comments. It’s been a wonderful resource for me and a source of strength. Can’t thank you enough!

Leave a Reply

