The cactus sun dial

The cactus-decorated sun dial.

The cactus-decorated sun dial.

What better location for a sun dial than Phoenix?   Well, discounting Yuma, also in Arizona.  The Colorado River city has 242 days of sun, according to worldfactsandfigures.com.  That’s tops in the U.S.  Phoenix rates No. 2 with 211 days.

The god of the sun dial?

The god of the sun dial?

Those facts and figures were furthest from my mind yesterday as I padded along the cement walkways of the Desert Botanical Garden in the east part of town.  The sun was unfortunately brilliant.  And hot.  I was trying out my new Canon EOS T3i camera, and just wanted to get it over with and back to the comfort of my swamp-cooler house.

Even in the shade happiness existed.

Even in the shade happiness existed.

Near a small plaza in the Herb Garden I was surprised to see a giant sun dial imbedded there in the concrete, decorated with two colors of cactus.  A long slanted pole hung over the dial pointing north.  The pole cast a shadow that was nearing the numeral “6” on the circle.  I didn’t need someone to tell me that meant 6 o’clock.  I shot the photo and later checked the time.  It was 5:45.

A nearby dial observor.

A nearby dial observor.

Somehow running across the sun dial made me feel better.  And I enjoyed the rest of my hour-long wander through the Garden, surprised even more to see so much color this intensely-hot and wilting  time of year.

Happy flowers near the Herb Garden.

Happy flowers near the Herb Garden.

My close friend, the Gambel's Quail.

My close friend, the Gambel’s Quail.

Leave a Reply

