Sometimes government needs to think like a juicer

Our government has it all wrong right now.  Austerity in a time of heavy debt is often self-defeating.  Look at the mess Europe is in right now.

The same holds true with personal costs.  Sometimes its wise to make a pricey investment to save money over the long haul.  Take my experiment in juicing.

I eat out a lot, and even though I dine at relatively cheap buffets for the most part, it still adds up at the end of the month.  So I invested in a $99 Breville juicer.  The Breville is called by some the Lexus of all juicers.  I’m counting on that big expense to save me a ton of money over the long haul by juicing vegetables and fruits.

So far I’ve yet to spend $2 for a single serving of juice, the savings being an added benefit to the health aspect.  In two samples, my juice cost $3.40 for what amounted to about four servings, two apiece for Nebra and I.  That beats the ol’ buffet by mucho plenty, leaving more than few shekels in the pocket, a pocket that used to hold nothing but lint.

On the 17th I juiced 2 medium Granny Smith apples at 51 cents apiece for $1.02, 1.5 carrot sticks at 20 cents apiece for a total of 30 cents; 2 celery stalks at 10 cents apiece for a total of 20 cents.  Total cost for produce $1.52.

Today, I juiced 1 beet for 63.3 cents, 1 pear for 42.3 cents, 1 apple for 50.67 cents, 2 celery stalks for 20 cents, and 2 carrots at 6 cents each for a total of 12 cents.  Total cost $1.88 for that juice and a median price of $1.70 for the two juicings.

By cutting out three or four restaurant meals a week in favor of juice, I figure to save at least $5 a meal, or say $20 a week.  In a year then I’ve saved $1,040.  That is 10 times more in savings than the juicer cost me.

If only our government would follow this juicing analogy.  Spend the money, say, on government projects like building bridges, improving highways, repairing dams.  It would be a huge investment, like the Breville, but it would put Americans back to work and generate in time a booming economy.  It is a plan suggested by many smart people including the Nobel Prize winning economist, Paul Krugman.

Sometimes you have to think big and not be a fraidy cat.  That means sometimes you have to think like a juicer.

Leave a Reply

