An adventure in juicing

My juicer ready to go.

I recently purchased a juicer and for about a week now have juiced fruits and vegetables almost daily.  This little adventure, as I call it, has a specific purpose.

I’m hoping to reduce blood pressure that is slightly above where it should be, at least at the doctor’s office.   At home the BP is fine, so low in fact my new doctor has taken me off the diuretic.   He thinks I’m over-medicated.

My ultimate goal is to also say good-bye to the Lisinopril and thereby be on no medications whatsoever.

So the juicer is part of my plan.  It’s a compact Breville Juice Fountain, standing only 10 inches high (16 inches if you keep the food pusher in) and came with a modest price tag of $99.  That’s the actual price.  I bought it online from Zappos.  No tax, no shipping cost.

In a few seconds it will juice an apple, 2 celery talks, a Roma tomato and 2 carrots, my usual blend, separating the hard stuff in a pulp catcher.  The frothy drink is slightly sweet and goes down easily.  Ideally you should drink the juice within minutes or, I have read, it will begin to lose nutrients.

I’m not going on a juice fast however.  I’m going to stay with regular food as well, cut back on the salt even more.  Man, I’m told, can not live by juice alone.  You need fiber in a healthy diet, and that’s in the pulp you’re tossing away.

The worst thing is cleaning up.  But, really, that’s not bad at all and only takes a few minutes.  The juicer disassembles easily.  I rinse it out, remove the pulp to a compost container and wash later in hot, soapy water and air-dry.  The manual says it will stand up to a dishwasher but I’ve not gone that route yet.

The hardest thing is scrubbing the micro mesh of the filter basket with the provided nylon bristle brush.  But even that can be done in a minute or two.

I’ve found preparation of the food is the biggest consumer of time.  Rinds of oranges, lemons and other citrus must be removed by hand.  Limes in particular prove hardest for me.  Also pits, like in peaches and avocados, must be removed.  I actually enjoy the prep work and like to imagine this may lead to bigger things like becoming a gourmet chef.

Expense of the fruit and vegetables is small compared to eating out, which I tend to do a lot.  I figured a recent batch of two servings cost $1.62.  Apples and tomatoes are the most expensive items.  Celery, which is supposedly great for reducing blood pressure, is one of the cheapest.

It’s too early to tell what if any health benefits will come from the adventure.  I’m hopeful anyway.  And right now, it’s fun.

2 thoughts on “An adventure in juicing

  1. How are you doing on juicing? I have done it for a couple of days and I am hating it. I find myself in hell.

    • JR, what is it you don’t like about juicing? Any one thing, like food prep, cleaning up, the taste? Maybe all three? Anyway, I’ve been juicing now for about two weeks, and I really enjoy all phases. Even shopping for produce. I wish I could tell you I’ve seen dramatic changes in my health. So far I may have a little more energy and seem to sleep better at night. Don’t know that for sure. Hope you’ll write back.

Leave a Reply

