An unheralded anniversary

This marks the start of Year 3 for Long Row.  No church bells will ring.  No fireworks displays.  That suits me just fine.  I like low key at this point in my life.  I like the anonymity.  Only a few know who Long Row really is.

There is a certain power to hiding an identity.   It’s called independence.  You write what you want, when you want.  Everthing else be damned.  No friends, no peers to write for.  Just write.  Whatever happens, it happens.

Long Row’s initial post, “A raindrop fell today!” on December 7, 2009, was a belabored attempt to explain drought in the arid lands and my adaptation to it.  Since then 195 posts have followed.   That comes to one post every 3.7 days.  Paltry, other bloggers might say.  Too busy, in my opinion.  If nothing else, I have wide and diverse interests beyond blogging.

By far, the most popular post in the Long Row collection is “Macular-hole surgery:  A journal,” begun June 1 of this year.  Macular hole is a serious eye condition that if left unrepaired can lead to blindness in an eye.  I was surprised in the interest it generated, an interest which I assume will continue as long as humans have mac-holes.

Probably the most painful post I wrote was “A father writes to his son:  War stories or revelations?”  My son lives in Oklahoma.  Our contact is minimal.  I haven’t seen him for more than 10 years.  Brief emails pass between us once or twice a year.   Several years ago, I wrote a letter to him, “The day you were born,”  my memories of his birth.  Others letters followed.  I wrote “A father writes to his son,” describing how my well-intended revelations were perceived in a different way.

Something about the format of Long Row I don’t like.  While I like the clean, open look and general organization of the theme, called Greyzed, the red headline colors are garish and jarring.   I have sifted many times through the multitude of themes offered by WordPress but have found little to satisfy.   With Greyzed, I’ve taken the good with the bad, a compromise that irritates.  The answer I suppose is to design my own webpage.   Toward that goal I’m learning html and css on my own.

I don’t know where I go from here.  For now Long Row will continue.  Maybe make changes at the start of the new year.  Another blog, perhaps, more focused and with shorter posts.

We’re into the Holiday season, a period of melancholy I struggle through every year.  It’s never a good time to make decisions of any kind.  To all others outside by dreary tribe, I say, “Have a good one.”

Leave a Reply

