Doomsday and the aliens on this planet

Well, I think it’s safe to say, almost six hours after the zero hour of Doomsday, nothing has changed in Arizona.  There was no earthquake.  No one I know has disappeared from the face of the earth.  Not that I ever thought for the slimmest of a second that the end of the world was at hand.  But then again I don’t believe in a god that would destroy his or her own work without at least a Tweet from on high:  “Get ready, y’all, this here human experiment is over.”

On the other hand, I do believe the human experiment a failure.  We are a flawed and doomed species, all right.  And we will eventually do ourselves in one way or another.  But nothing cataclysmic.  Nothing that will end abruptly.  If there be gods, they will let us do the deed while they sit back amused.  It will take many, many years for it to all play out, those years, though, a belch in the total length of time.  And then the gods will be on to something else.  Perhaps another experiment with yet another kind of species.   Maybe they will get it right eventually. 

But before then I wonder.  So who are these species that believed in Doomsday on the 21st of May?   They are so different from me that I do not recognize them as the same species.   In truth, I do not know who is the alien here.  Them or me.  Let’s just say the differences we face are mammoth and without solution. 

And I’ll tell you a little secret.  I believe the Tea Party madness in American politics is the fine thread that separates the aliens from the not aliens.  A slight misstep, I think, and the Tea Party people will slip into the Doomsday crowd.  Or a slight upward swing and the Doomsdayers will switch their extremism from God to politics.  It’s wild down here. 

Beam me up, Scotty.

Leave a Reply

