Not all steps are equal

In trying to walk 10,000 steps a day for health, I have found there are steps and then there are moderate steps.  Both are OK.  Moderate is better.

That’s what I like about my Omron digital pedometer.  It measures both. 

Moderate steps,  says about.com quoting from a Canadian study, improve aerobic fitness and reduces systolic blood pressure (the upper number in a BP reading).  The study also found non-moderate steps can burn the same amount of calories and reduce “fasting” blood glucose and cholesterol.’

A moderate step is normal walking speed or one taken at a brisk pace.  That comes to 2.5 mph to 3.4 mph, according to my pedometer’s instruction manual.  Shuffling around the house won’t count as moderate steps.

Anyone who has ridden a treadmill knows that 2.5 mph is an easy pace for most, that 4 mph is slow jog and that 6 mph is running. 

Since we began a walking program this year, Nebra and I have take more than 1.4 million total steps.  Of those about 60 percent, or three in five, have been moderate ones. 

This month, for example, Nebra’s percentage of moderate steps is 63.6 %.  Mine averages 59.7 %. 

I refuse to get manic about this walking thing.  I don’t intend to overdo it.  And at times I resent the time away from reading books and writing.  I started the program in September of last  year, and it quickly became a part of my daily routine.

[For a record of my daily, monthly and yearly step count, see the Walking page.]

Leave a Reply

